Weekly photo challenge: Home

Cheeseburger

My cheeseburger without pickles

When my elder sister and I were little, going to Macs was a regular treat for us after a long day at school.

I remember Mom always returning to our table from the Macs order counter with a tray containing a filo fish burger, a cheeseburger and a small bag of fries.

She would remove the yellow wrapper of the cheeseburger, open the top half of the bun to remove the pickle, carefully smearing as much ketchup stuck on the pickle back onto the burger, then slowly tearing the burger into equal halves (so we won’t have to argue who got the bigger share), before putting the burger into our eager little hands.

I cannot recall the reason why Mom took out the pickles – either she did let us try it once and we spit it out, or it was assumed that little kids would not like most vegetables, let alone the pickled ones.

Anyhow, its a practice that still stayed with me and my sister till this day and it reminds me of home… I might just continue this family ‘ritual’ when I have kids of my own…=P

Cheers,

Happylovejoy

About Happylovejoy

I love collecting happy and inspirational ideas/thinking/ quotes, interesting world knowledge and jokes. A little demographic update – I am female in late 20s..just got married and live in a small city. Hope my posts will expand your mind, inspire you somewhat, or just simply – make you laugh. R – Happylovejoy My blog: http://happylovejoy.wordpress.com/
Quote | This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly photo challenge: Home

  1. What a great memory- thank you for sharing!!!

  2. thank u for sharing.. nice words..

Let me hear you!

